India Has Introduced A Proposal To Give Observer Status To The International Solar Alliance In The United Nations General Assembly

India has tabled a draft resolution in the United Nations General Assembly (UNGA) to grant observer status to the International Solar Alliance (ISA). This resolution will help in providing regular cooperation between the ISA and the United Nations. This will benefit global energy growth and development. The draft resolution was presented to the Sixth Committee of the General Assembly on Legal Questions.

Tirumurti presented the draft before the Sixth Committee of the United Nations General Assembly
Announcing the draft, India’s Permanent Representative TS Tirumurti said that it will usher in a new era of green energy diplomacy. Giving this information on Twitter, he wrote, another milestone for the International Solar Alliance. Presenting the resolution at the UNGA, he said, “Granting observer status to the International Solar Alliance at the General Assembly will help provide a regular and well-defined cooperation between the Alliance and the UN.”

This will benefit energy growth and development internationally. There are also about 80 co-sponsor countries of this International Solar Alliance. Tirumurti said that ISA is taking a big step towards solving some of the questions like technology transfer, storage of solar energy and project layout with financial help to member countries.

India-France alliance started in 2015
The International Solar Alliance (ISA) was jointly launched by India and France in 2015 at the 21st Conference of the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (COP-21) in Paris. Its objective is to find joint solutions to the major challenges for the promotion of solar energy in the member countries. UNGA can grant permanent observer status to non-member countries, world organizations and other institutions.

Co-sponsors of the coalition include many countries
ISA co-sponsors include Algeria, Australia, Bangladesh, Cambodia, Canada, Chile, Cuba, Denmark, Egypt, Fiji, Finland, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Maldives, Mauritius, Myanmar, New Zealand, Oman, St. Vincent and the Grenadines. . Countries like Saudi Arabia, Trinidad, Tobago, UAE and UK are also included in this.