Ireland team announced his final squad for T20 world cup 2021 Barby McCarthy is not included in team Andrew Balbirnie will be the captain – Latest Cricket News

Ireland has announced its final squad for the T20 World Cup starting on October 17. Barry McCarthy, Shane Getkett and Graham Kennedy have failed to make their way into the World Cup squad. The command of the 15-man team has been handed over to Andrew Balbirnie. McCarthy, Gatkett and Kennedy were included in the previously selected 18-player squad. However, all these three players will go to UAE with the team as reserve players.

Andrew White, chairman of the National Men’s Selection Committee, said about the selected team, “It was going to be a very difficult decision to reduce the team from 18 to 15. Every player has proved his mettle this time in Dubai and he deserves his chance. The three players who missed out on a spot will still play a supporting role in the original team and will have to remain within the team’s bio-bubble in the event of a player being injured or ill. Part of the selectors’ decision-making revolved around the conditions in both Abu Dhabi and Sharjah, but we also looked at head coach Graham Ford’s on-field assessment of what he thinks is the most effective combination of players to win a match. We are confident that the selected player has the ability and determination to take us to the next round of the tournament, but in the end it will all be about putting together and our players deserve it. We wish Ford and all the players the very best for the challenges ahead and we are sure they will do Irish cricket proud.

IPL 2021: Aakash Chopra told, which 2 players should be retained by Mumbai Indians in the auction next year

Ireland will start their campaign in the T20 World Cup with a practice match against Papua New Guinea on 12 October. After two practice matches, Ireland will take on the Netherlands in the first round of the tournament on 18 October. This will be followed by matches against Sri Lanka and Namibia on October 20 and 22 respectively. The top two teams from the group will qualify for the Super 12 stage.

Ireland’s 15-man squad: Andrew Balbirnie (captain), Mark Adair, Curtis Kanfer, Gareth Delany, George Dockrell, Josh Little, Andrew McBrine, Kevin O’Brien, Neil Rock, Simi Singh, Paul Stirling, Harry Tector, Lorcan Tucker, Ben White, Craig Young.