Why India could not win the title after the 2007 T20 World Cup? Know what is the reason – Why India could not win the title after the 2007 T20 World Cup? Know what is the reason

Why India could not win the title after the 2007 T20 World Cup?  Know what is the reason- India TV Hindi
Image Source : GETTY IMAGES
Why India could not win the title after the 2007 T20 World Cup? Know what is the reason

The ICC T20 World Cup 2021 is going to start from October 17 in the UAE and Oman. India will start its campaign in this tournament by playing a match against Pakistan on 24th. India is in the second group of Super 12 in which apart from India-Pakistan, there are also teams from New Zealand and Afghanistan. Two more teams will also join this group after the qualifier round.

This time India’s eyes will be on ending the drought of 14 years. Team India won the first title of the ICC T20 World Cup under the leadership of Mahendra Singh Dhoni. But after that India has not been able to win 5 T20 World Cups. After winning the title in 2007, India were eliminated in the second round in 2009, 2010 and 2012. In 2014, Team India made a spectacular comeback and traveled to the final, but there they had to face defeat at the hands of Sri Lanka. The 2016 T20 World Cup was played in India, everyone hoped that India could win this World Cup, but in the semi-finals, the West Indies team broke India’s dream.

Let us know what happened after the 2007 World Cup that Team India was not able to win the title-

increased expectations

In 2007, when India went to play the first World Cup in South Africa, no one expected that the team would come by winning this title. In March 2007, Team India was out in the ODI World Cup after losing to Bangladesh. In this World Cup played in September, the BCCI sent a youth team led by the new captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni to play in this tournament. There were no stars like Sachin Tendulkar, Sourav Ganguly, Rahul Dravid and Zaheer Khan in that team. This was the first World Cup of the new format of cricket, so no one took it seriously. But under Dhoni’s captaincy, India defeated Pakistan in the final and won the title. After this the whole country started taking this World Cup as a career and from here the burden of expectations increased on Team India.

Competition increased in tournament

After the 2007 World Cup, this format caught the attention of the whole world. After the T20 World Cup, India started the Indian Premier League, which made a lot of headlines, seeing India, many countries started organizing T20 leagues here. From here the competition in this league continued to increase year after year and strong teams were prepared at the international level. The image of West Indies, which ruled the world cricket till the 70-80s, was starting to tarnish, but this format has once again revived West Indies cricket. The Windies team won the 2012 and 2016 T20 World Cup titles. Apart from West Indies, teams like England, Pakistan and Afghanistan have also proved their mettle in this format.

bowling attack

When India went to play the 2007 World Cup, there were bowlers like Harbhajan Singh, Irfan Pathan, RP Singh, Ajit Agarkar, S Sreesanth and Joginder Sharma in the team. These bowlers performed in every match and played an important role in the victory of the team. RCP Singh and Irfan Pathan were named in the top 10 bowlers who took the most wickets in the 2007 T20 World Cup. After this, of course, Zaheer Khan, Ravindra Jadeja and Ishant Sharma played for India in the T20 World Cup, but they failed to leave their mark.

perfect salami pair

It is said for the T20 format that if a team is to be successful in this, then its openers will have to perform continuously. When India went to play the 2007 T20 World Cup, this work was done by the pair of Virender Sehwag and Gautam Gambhi. The pair of Virender Sehwag and Gautam Gambhir had added 274 runs in the first T20. But after that India never got a perfect opening pair. After the 2007 World Cup, India also tried players like Rohit Sharma, Dinesh Karthik and Murali Vijay but they could not succeed. In 2014, India got a great opening pair in the form of Rohit Dhawan and in that World Cup, Team India managed to reach the final.